Posted on

Relationship manager

I was on my desk at work. A tall, lanky man came to meet me. I thought the visitor had some press release to share with me. Journalists can’t think beyond news/stories.

I looked at him curiously. He looked at me and told,  “I am your relationship manager.”

I told him, “What!!!! most of my relationships are screwed up. So, what exactly are you managing?”

He was taken aback with this outburst of mine. Most finance professionals are too seriously involved with numbers, profit margins and the like. Humor doesn’t come to them quickly. Humor comes easily to poor journalists like me.  He then blurted out, “I am from your bank. I am there to manage your account. ”

Money, relationship, finance … all now seem entangled together in a liberalized, market-driven India.

You see, I was born in pre-liberalized India. I am as clueless about all this as I was before.

 

About Deepika Sahu

I earn my living through writing stories, editing what other people write (in simple terms I am a journalist). I dream of opening a cafeteria in the mountains, owning a beach home on the shores of Bay of Bengal... but right now, they all seem like wild dreams.. A gypsy at heart --- am passionate about life, music, words, cooking for people I love, soaking in the lashing rain and just looking at the changing colours of the sky.... And I am a great fan of the Indian Railways and I long to travel in First Class AC coupe across India.....with my man

2 responses to “Relationship manager

  1. Leen

    Ah! Agreed!
    Just came across your blog and I love it! Stay awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

