Posted on

Gandhi, the healer

He’s the Father of the Nation. He’s one of the greatest souls the world has ever seen.

For me, Gandhi is the healer. When I need to heal the cracks within myself, I turn to Gandhi. When I am sad, desolate and wounded, I visit the Sabarmati Ashram. I just go there and sit all alone to heal my bruised heart. I feel a sense of peace and tranquility within myself. There’s something peaceful about all the places where Gandhiji lived. I have experienced the same sense of peace and love in Mumbai’s Mani Bhavan too. Just being at the Sabarmati Ashram calms me down.

Gandhi heals me in strange, sublime ways. I want to be a better person. I want to have tenderness. I want empathy to be a part of my personality. I want to love — more and better.

Even as I engage my own self in a discourse, I realize — whatever I am looking for, I can actually find it all Gandhi’s philosophy. I just need to embrace it in my life in spirit.

It’s a privilege to walk on this land which has given birth to Gandhi and it’s a blessing to have a home just few kms away from the Sabarmati Ashram.

About Deepika Sahu

I earn my living through writing stories, editing what other people write (in simple terms I am a journalist). I dream of opening a cafeteria in the mountains, owning a beach home on the shores of Bay of Bengal... but right now, they all seem like wild dreams.. A gypsy at heart --- am passionate about life, music, words, cooking for people I love, soaking in the lashing rain and just looking at the changing colours of the sky.... And I am a great fan of the Indian Railways and I long to travel in First Class AC coupe across India.....with my man

Leave a Reply

