Posted on

A mouthful of sky — from my window

clouds1

This summer has been brutal in Ahmedabad. The harsh sun of Ahmedabad forced me to put sun-shield screens on my window. The room looked dark even in the middle of the noon. You could not really distinguish between day and night. The air-conditioner and the frightfully expensive electricity bills somehow helped us to sail through this soul destroying summer months. All through the summer months, I dreamt of sleeping without an air-conditioner. I dreamt of waking up to a mouthful of sky. From my window. The window was shut 24×7. And the air-conditioner was on whenever I stayed at home. I felt gratitude in my heart for being able to afford an air-conditioned bed-room. But I was longing for a whiff of cool fresh air.

The season has got a make-over now. For last three nights, I am sleeping sans the hissing sound of an air-conditioner. My darling niece gifted me a really bad cold and throat infection when I visited her in New Delhi. I came back to Ahmedabad with a horrible throat infection and have been coughing like a 90 year old dadiji of a Hindi film of the 70s.

I gave my cup of Earl Grey tea a miss today morning. Instead, I settled for a cup of hot water brewed with ginger, basil leaves and turmeric. As I sat down in my room with this soothing drink, a mouthful of sky and a winged friend warmed my heart. A friendly world came inside my bedroom through my window.

IMG_0040

There was life outside – the Gulmohar tree was swaying lazily in breeze, the birds were chirping in full glory, the fleeting clouds were busy creating drama in the sky. The shaft of sunlight fell softly on the walls of the apartment standing tall next to mine. Windows can be exciting even when they don’t come with the signature of Microsoft. I felt happy, content in my own little world — all because of my humble window which has been kept open. And the curtains are not drawn perfectly.

Nature is the healer. The sky is a reminder of all things beautiful.

P S: Read this last night in a column written by my favorite Natasha Bhadwar : “Think of yourself as the sky,” she said to me. “Everything else is like clouds. They come and go. They are different shapes, colours, temperament. They pass. You stay.”

About Deepika Sahu

I earn my living through writing stories, editing what other people write (in simple terms I am a journalist). I dream of opening a cafeteria in the mountains, owning a beach home on the shores of Bay of Bengal... but right now, they all seem like wild dreams.. A gypsy at heart --- am passionate about life, music, words, cooking for people I love, soaking in the lashing rain and just looking at the changing colours of the sky.... And I am a great fan of the Indian Railways and I long to travel in First Class AC coupe across India.....with my man

Leave a Reply

