Posted on

Political orgasm

aap Politics fascinates me. I am addicted to politics. The ‘Sahu-Menon’ household is talking, eating and sleeping Delhi  elections for last few days. I think, hubby dear seems to be more excited than Arvind Kejriwal’s wife. He woke me up today at 6.30 in the morning to watch news (I went back to sleep after telling him that the counting will only start at 8 in the morning). It’s a happy day for me (understatement… I am toooo happy),  thanks to the magnificent landslide victory of AAP in Delhi Assembly Elections. Political orgasm … that’s how I can describe my feeling right now.  No, I am not a die-hard supporter of Arvind Kejriwal. But it’s the arrogance of the BJP and its politics of strong Hindu fundamentalism laced with dollops of anti-minority stance  that puts me off completely. I strongly believe in secularism and inclusive economic growth. The beauty of Indian democracy is that it can really spring up surprises and it shows its door to arrogance. We as a nation collectively did in 1977, 1980, 2004,2014… we have done it and we will continue to do it. I have great faith in India and its diverse canvas. Now, it is up to Arvind Kejriwal and his team to put up a show of good governance. Rhetoric(s) will not work in the long run.

On a lighter vein, politics also brings out humor in people. Here are some gems from Facebook status updates

बड़ा मन है कि श्री अमित भाई शाह के बेटे की शादी में गेट क्रैश कर उन्हें बूंदी का बड़ा लड्डू खिलाऊँ।  (BJP president Amit Shah’s son got married today,  Feb 10… so you can connect)

I cant bear the tension any more. I am going out to buy a jhadu.

So muffler-wearing now compulsory? No Saville row suits? Gosh

मफलर बिहार में छोड़ कर बहुत खुश था. नही पता था कि दिल्ली में यह एक दिन बहुत पॉपुलर हो जायेगा.

SWACHCH BHARAT AVIJAN started at Delhi,

About Deepika Sahu

I earn my living through writing stories, editing what other people write (in simple terms I am a journalist). I dream of opening a cafeteria in the mountains, owning a beach home on the shores of Bay of Bengal... but right now, they all seem like wild dreams.. A gypsy at heart --- am passionate about life, music, words, cooking for people I love, soaking in the lashing rain and just looking at the changing colours of the sky.... And I am a great fan of the Indian Railways and I long to travel in First Class AC coupe across India.....with my man

Leave a Reply

