Posted on

As the year slips by

If you are reading this and you are my well-wisher– then you can give me OTS (one tight slap) for being so non-creative this year. The only thing I am proud of doing in 2014 is to finally buy an apartment for myself. Definitely an achievement, I am proud of.  Otherwise, my score is poor C in matters relating to reading and writing. Started the year with Steve Jobs’ brilliant and evocative biography by Walter Isaacson and then I hit the pause button for a very very long time. Really ashamed of myself for reading so few books in 2014. On a lighter vein (as life-coaches say you shouldn’t be too harsh on yourself), I did manage to read Chetan Bhagat’s masterpiece Half Girlfriend (the best part is I borrowed it from a friend). So far as writing is concerned, let me be elegant and keep quiet. I strive to put all this behind me as a bad dream and move on to a creative, productive and fulfilling 2015. Life is like a railway journey, you can only move forward once you have boarded the train. So, I am all set for moving forward. Here’s wishing you all wonderful people a very happy, healthy  and prosperous 2015. amaltas

My desire list for 2015 (I hate the word resolutions)

Reading and more reading (I just got my copy of Vinod Mehta’s Editor Unplugged which I intend to finish by first week of Jan)

More of writing (apart from my work related writing)

Less love for Haldiram sev bhujia, khatta-mitha, navratna mixture

Use my humble feet more frequently

Use my lovely fountain pen (gifted by my dearest friend) more frequently. The world should see more of my beautiful handwriting (I am not boasting)

Spend more time in the midst of mountains, trees and rolling waves

Try to understand money (in the same efficient way as Amit Shah gets seats for BJP (in elections)).

Slowly and gently (may be not so gently) go back to my earlier avatar when people used to think twice before opening their mouth in front of me.

I think, all this should keep in good health and jolly spirit in 2015. InshAllah.

Love to you all

(The pic of this beautiful Amaltas tree standing tall in the JNU campus is clicked by Anand Pradhan)

About Deepika Sahu

I earn my living through writing stories, editing what other people write (in simple terms I am a journalist). I dream of opening a cafeteria in the mountains, owning a beach home on the shores of Bay of Bengal... but right now, they all seem like wild dreams.. A gypsy at heart --- am passionate about life, music, words, cooking for people I love, soaking in the lashing rain and just looking at the changing colours of the sky.... And I am a great fan of the Indian Railways and I long to travel in First Class AC coupe across India.....with my man

Leave a Reply

