Posted on

Fantasy

The heat, the newsroom, the wait for a story, the deadline can be oppressive. That’s the time when the mind wanders. And fantasy quietly replaces reality. Even on a temporary note. If my fantasy can be put into a list then here it goes like this
* A home in the hills. Wrapped in a black and red shawl and sipping Earl Grey tea in the morning and enjoying the thick mist

* Not waking up to routine but to my favourite songs and the songs automatically changing as per my thought (geeks, are you listening?)

* Travelling across India in AC I coupe with my man…that’s a fantasy I have been nurturing since I was a gawky teenager. On a humorous note, my affair with the Indian Railways remains constant even as the ‘fantasy man’ keeps changing… but then I feel love is contextual
* A degree from an Ivy League. I know, I have left the best years of my life far far behind. But it’s my fantasy to walk on the corridors of Harvard/Stanford/Columbia as a social sciences student. That will be the best gift for my father (wherever he is today that will make him really happy)

* Travelling to Paris, Cuba, Iran, Cambodia and Istanbul and spending six months in each place to absorb the nuances

*To do many more things using my hand like baking, pottery, bottle art, fabric painting, strumming a guitar

* Being in the same hilly neighbourhood with all my loved ones (mom, foster mom, sisters, soul sisters, soul-mate(s), old flame turned friend-philosopher-guide, nieces, nephews, people who have worked with me at my home) and still having a very strong sense of my own space and independence

* Working with kids and giving them a wonderful sense of joyful, creative life. In a way leaving a legacy in the true sense (like my father) of the term

* Going to Gomukh and seeing the origin of the River Ganges and spending quiet evenings on the banks of River Brahmaputra
* Not having a mobile phone (When I will have all my loved ones in the same neighbourhood, I won’t need the necessary evil of modern times called mobile phones)
* Having enough money in my bank account so that I don’t have to work for a living
* I feel very strongly that I have healing powers. I have the ability to make people feel nice when the going is tough for them. My fantasy is to lessen pain in people’s lives.
* Travelling in the luxurious Palace On Wheels and also in the toy trains and then soaking in the contrast wonderfully and beautifully.
P S: I can sacrifice each and every thing in this fantasy list happily just to see my father alive once more and share some of my most intimate thoughts. I wanted him to read a narrative I wrote on identity. But then that thing called chance never gave us that joy of sharing  
About Deepika Sahu

I earn my living through writing stories, editing what other people write (in simple terms I am a journalist). I dream of opening a cafeteria in the mountains, owning a beach home on the shores of Bay of Bengal... but right now, they all seem like wild dreams.. A gypsy at heart --- am passionate about life, music, words, cooking for people I love, soaking in the lashing rain and just looking at the changing colours of the sky.... And I am a great fan of the Indian Railways and I long to travel in First Class AC coupe across India.....with my man

Leave a Reply

