Posted on

Allergic to duffers

I am allergic to aubergine, peanuts, black-pepper, crabs but most importantly duffers. Not being able to eat a mean grilled aubergine and feta cheese salad or roasted peanuts does not really affect my mental happiness. But being surrounded by duffers do affect my psychological well-being. Duffers give me an itchy feeling deep within. I want to scream at the top of my voice but I can’t as I live in a ‘civilised’ world.  What do you do when a fellow journalist sees you reading Kuldip Nayar’s autobiography ‘Beyond the lines’ and asks you, “Who’s he?” (It’s like an oncologist asking who’s Siddhartha Mukherjee or a photographer asking who’s Henri Cartier Bresson)

Another one is all charged up to interview Riteish Deshmukh and she thinks that his father Vilasrao Deshmukh is still Maharashtra’s chief minister. Another one thinks Goa is a part of Maharashtra and Odiyas speak Odissi at home. I feel like doing a tandava on his head so that he will not live to repeat the mistakes once again.

God, what have I done in my life to come across so many duffers every single day? What karmic connection do I share with them? And is it that difficult to read a daily newspaper?

About Deepika Sahu

I earn my living through writing stories, editing what other people write (in simple terms I am a journalist). I dream of opening a cafeteria in the mountains, owning a beach home on the shores of Bay of Bengal... but right now, they all seem like wild dreams.. A gypsy at heart --- am passionate about life, music, words, cooking for people I love, soaking in the lashing rain and just looking at the changing colours of the sky.... And I am a great fan of the Indian Railways and I long to travel in First Class AC coupe across India.....with my man

3 responses to “Allergic to duffers

  1. indira ⋅

    omg. it is like another supposedly online journalist from a leading magazine who asked me if bangkok was in the northeast of india. just because i look like a thai? at that time i thought oh she is an online journalist so overlooked but then she works online and she should know more given that that the world wide web overloads you with info. i guess her father bribed his way through her school and all she does at her job is play those card games on a green screen. i swear it is so frustrating to be amid duffers and there seem to be so many in this profession these days 🙂

  2. Parul Khullar ⋅

    Remember when common sense used to be common. Those were the days…
    Oh well. Great post. I read others too but this one made me smile. Or at least made me realize I am not the only one who has allergic reaction to dumb people. 🙂

Leave a Reply

