Posted on

Why must you go away?

Far beyond the glass window,
there is a life under a beautiful sky,
A life beyond work and a payslip,
a life beyond our respective glowing computer screens,
a life beyond the neatly arranged shelves of a supermarket,
a life beyond an ironed white shirt and a sari pinned to perfection.

Why must you and I be so far away from each other,
when we know that it will rain,
Why must I ignore the sound of the rain,
by increasing the volume of the TV in the living room,
Why must I kill the hunger of passion,
By biting slices of yesterdays.

Why  must you go away,
leaving me all alone under a cloud,
Why must I turn and twist on a rainy night
that smells of wet earth and intimacy.

Why must you go away,
Leaving me to soak in falling raindrops
All alone.

(I wrote this while I was listening to Bruno Mars’ heart-warming song ‘It will rain’)

About Deepika Sahu

I earn my living through writing stories, editing what other people write (in simple terms I am a journalist). I dream of opening a cafeteria in the mountains, owning a beach home on the shores of Bay of Bengal... but right now, they all seem like wild dreams.. A gypsy at heart --- am passionate about life, music, words, cooking for people I love, soaking in the lashing rain and just looking at the changing colours of the sky.... And I am a great fan of the Indian Railways and I long to travel in First Class AC coupe across India.....with my man

2 responses to “Why must you go away?

  1. indira ⋅

    but I am here and along with me comes thunderstorm 🙂
    deepu you are neruda’s cousin perhaps in the last birth 🙂

Leave a Reply

