Posted on

Life on a playlist

I don’t trust people who don’t enjoy music. You have to be really harsh, ruthless and very very mediocre in life to not enjoy music. I feel, of all great arts, music is the most intense one. Like love, you don’t have to be literate to enjoy music. It stirs your heart from within. Nothing touches me more than music. For me, music has been always about memories, a feeling of togetherness, a feeling of sheer ecstasy, joy, connecting with the soul. When reality becomes harsh, I slip into fantasy. I dream of a life which would let me lie down on a comfortable bed in a house tucked away in the mountains. Far away from the madding crowd, in complete solitude I will look at the changing colors of the sky and listen to Asha’s ‘Katra Katra’, Elton John’s ‘Sacrifice’, Susheela Raman’s ‘Salt Rain’, Dier Strait’s ‘So far Away from Me’, Lady Antebellum’s ‘I just need you’ and the list goes on and on. And not to talk about Adele. It will be my dream life. Intimate life. Precious life. Much against a life of deadlines, headlines and reams of newsprints. My playlist will have a slice of my soul.

Even as I wade through reality, music gives me company at odd moments. Today, I share a musical bond with my nieces Simrita and Sigma and my nephew Gogol. Adele is our current passion. I discovered Adele during watching Grammy Awards few months back. Then I came to know that my niece Simrita (who plays piano) has become a great fan of Adele. And then during my recent visit to Bengaluru, my niece Sigma made me listen to Adele’s ‘Set fire to the rain’. And I was bowled over. I just couldn’t stop listening to this song. As we were coming back from Srirangpatnam to Bengaluru, I kept on listening to this soul-stirring song as the beautiful landscape passed by me like a slideshow. Now, I wake up in the morning to this song. Every time I listen to Adele’s ‘Set fire to the rain’, I feel an aching pain in my heart yet I feel as if I am holding a slice of heaven in my palm. That’s the power of music. Overwhelming. Intense. All encompassing.

And when you share the joy of music with a loved one, it feels blissful. I just received an e-mail from my 11-year-old niece Simrita in which she says, “I just love Adele’s Set fire to the rain…I can already sing it perfectly.” I wrote back to her immediately, “My darling, when are coming to India (Simrita lives in Atlanta)? Can’t wait to listen to you.”

But this is not the end of the story. My four and half year old nephew Gogol is not interested in learning A, B, C, D. But he tells my sister (his mom), “Mama, Adele, Mama song.” Well, that says the power of music.

(June 21 is World Music Day)

About Deepika Sahu

I earn my living through writing stories, editing what other people write (in simple terms I am a journalist). I dream of opening a cafeteria in the mountains, owning a beach home on the shores of Bay of Bengal... but right now, they all seem like wild dreams.. A gypsy at heart --- am passionate about life, music, words, cooking for people I love, soaking in the lashing rain and just looking at the changing colours of the sky.... And I am a great fan of the Indian Railways and I long to travel in First Class AC coupe across India.....with my man

Leave a Reply

